The Belgrade Book Fair and Lots of Books

The last week of October is a special time for all book-lovers from Belgrade – and not just Belgrade; basically, anyone who can make it to the Belgrade Book Fair.

Once again, I have proven that I can’t stay away from books. I went there, bought a lot of books (and found out it was difficult to walk under such a lovely burden), and thought that the next day there wouldn’t be so much buying. I was wrong. The third day I went, I also came back home with a plenty of books. SO said I was the only one who thought it wouldn’t be that way. Yeah, he knows me. But hey, just look at them! (Too many to tell you about every one)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sadly, people have less and less money to spare on books, not to mention the tickets for the fair were pricey too, so there weren’t all that many visitors – what you see on the picture is the day when there were more of them than usual.

My book was still available at the fair, I even signed one copy. A whole one copy! Yay! The one I was hoping would be published by the book fair wasn’t; I have no idea when it will come out.

On the other hand, now that I’m translating too, I saw the books I’ve translated on the stands as well, and there’s also the vampire anthology I mentioned before.

Overall, even though the situation in the industry could be better, it was still great to come to Belgrade Book Fair, chat with friends, look at the books I’ve written or contributed to or translated, bring home more books (ouch)… Since I became a published author, a book fair is no longer just a place to come and get books, it’s also a place for networking, which is something I’m still getting used to; I’m so not a social butterfly, but I guess I’ll have to learn. And maybe even find some fun in it.

Then again, it would be difficult not to have fun at a book fair.

 

 

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Belgrade Book Fair and Lots of Books

  1. I’m glad you had fun and got to see your book and ones you’ve translated.

    Like

  2. Looks like you made quite a haul! Fantastic! I’m glad you got to see some of the books you worked on. That has got to be a great feeling.

    Like

  3. Ivana, sounds like you had a wonderful time! I’m envious of your new books stash! I can’t remember the last time I bought a book. Sigh. The Belgrade book fair sounds like fun, both for published authors and visitors! :)

    Like

    • It is fun! And the book maniacs like me usually save up for the books, and then we buy them during the fair, when they’re cheaper.

      Like

Say Something!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

