How to Return Books to the Library?

 

Err, when am I going to read all these books?

I’d really like to know how to return a bunch of books to the library. And by that, I mean how to return them without taking another bunch. *sigh*

Last week, I went to the library to return 5 books (and when I took those 5, I needed 1 for the work, the rest of them I just couldn’t resist). And I looked at all the books around me, and, of course, I couldn’t just leave the things like that. So I took a book. And another one. And… Ended up with the pile you see on the picture.

The books in the pile are: Timequake and Galapagos by Kurt Vonnegut, The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho, Point Omega by Don DeLillo, My Name is Red by Orhan Pamuk and Der satanarchäolügenialkohöllische Wunschpunsch by Michael Ende. So far, I’ve read The Alchemist and Galapagos, and am now reading Timequake.

And it’s not like I actually have time to read all those books.

Does it happen to you, too? To take more books out of the library than you have time to read? Instead of just, you know, returning the books to the library, without adding to the bookpile?

Author:

A writer, a reader, a dreamer. Dreaming myself into existence.

10 thoughts on “How to Return Books to the Library?

  1. Great post and so true! I try to get really strict with myself-you can only bring in the exact number you can take back…or only as many as other items you plan to give to the thrift store. Still, the books grow and multiply and my compulsion continues….

    Like

  2. Yeah, that happens to me! Except then I also forget to return them on time, which is why I owe about $80 to the library right now and am therefore banned from going anywhere near it. When you really don’t want to check anything else out, you could always use the outdoor drop box!

    Like

  3. Ivana, I love, love your new digs, sister! I always end up taking out more books than I can read. I then find myself returning them, only to check them out again! Oh dear, so much to do, so little time. Seriously, the day should have more hours! 🙂

    Like

Say Something!

