Being Fit Is the Plan, the Plan Is to Write

A fencing lesson
A fencing lesson

There I was, thinking I had it all figured out, more or less. I would finally sit down and write the book I had in mind for quite a while, and then I’d write the other books I got the ideas for in the meantime. Oh, and I’d translate what I had written already, and publish it too.

Great plan, really. There was one problem, though: it didn’t work. I wasn’t writing.

I felt sluggish. A few extra pounds (still within the officially healthy range, but my knees were beginning to disagree), things which were supposed to happen but didn’t, maybe my thyroid gland was giving me trouble already without me being aware that’s why I felt so blue…

I tried a few things I thought might make me feel better. Switching to Ubuntu – hey, learning something new is always good. Dying my hair blond. Taking fencing lessons.

Well, I got used to Ubuntu pretty quickly, since it’s not like I’m doing something complicated. Being a blonde amused me for only so long, and I began to miss my natural brown hair. Fencing lessons turned out to be a great idea, so I’ll keep doing that. I managed to get in better shape and lose some pounds, and my knees stopped giving me trouble. And fencing is fun.

At some point during the fencing lessons, I noticed I was getting tired way too quickly. It happened during the June heat wave, so I hoped that might be the cause, but I went to the lab anyway, to check things out.

It turned out my thyroid gland was playing tricks on me again. My doctor increased my levothyroxine dose, so I’m waiting for it to kick in (it takes a few weeks).

Waiting for this, waiting for that… I feel like I spend way too much time waiting instead of doing.

So, I’m doing something. I’m writing this post. Then I’ll go and translate one of my stories. Flash fiction, perhaps, but that’s a start.

I’m not a fan of making plans – when I do make them, I tend to ignore them. But this time I do have a plan. A long-term one. Getting fit and writing. Mens sana in corpore sano, and all that jazz. I may slip from time to time, but since the plan is a long-term one, it’s no biggie. I’ll just get up and keep moving, and hopefully get there someday.

Well. I’m off to translate some fiction of my own. See you all later, and take care.

 

Author:

A writer, a reader, a dreamer. Dreaming myself into existence.

12 thoughts on “Being Fit Is the Plan, the Plan Is to Write

  1. Fencing lessons–how cool! I tried it one time and liked it, but I was pretty confused for most of the class 🙂 It sounds like you have a great plan.

    Like

    1. I get confused sometimes too, especially at the end, when I’m tired. I wasn’t confused at the first lesson, though, since all we did was the stance, step forward and step back. We’re really doing it step by step. 😆

      Like

  2. Hi! So good to read your blog. Been wondering where you went. 🙂

    I’ve always wanted to take fencing lessons. Glad you are enjoying them. Also glad to hear you are getting your thyroid in check. It’s amazing how much it can screw you up, isn’t it?

    Good luck with your plan!

    Like

Say Something!

