Writing for a Living

Writers need to take a nap, too!
Writers need to take a nap, too!

I’ve known for a very long while that I want to write for a living.

When you put it like that, it sounds simple, doesn’t it? You want to write, to get paid for that, and to get paid enough to be able to buy necessities, take care of bills, and, preferably, put something on the side. And so, I’ve been reading advice, tips, tricks, how it works, how to do it, I’ve been trying to get my name out there… You know the drill. Your brand. Your platform. Your whatever.

Boring. And very much not me.

And then, after I’ve spent some time as a freelance writer, I’ve realized something.

It doesn’t have to be under my name. I really, truly, don’t care about fame, or about building a platform, or any of it. As long as I get paid for what I write, my name doesn’t have to be on it.

It can be ghostwriting. It can be writing video scripts, article writing for someone (as long as they don’t want articles in bulk, I hate those), book blurbs, book titles… It can be a lot of things, and I don’t care if nobody (except for the buyer, obviously) knows that I’m the one who wrote that.

It’s fine. I get paid to write, I’ve got skills to pay the bills (being a minimalist helps), and it’s fine.

So, if you’ve been wondering where I’ve been, now you know. Having good (and sometimes bad) time writing for a living, reading from my ever-growing to-read pile, and, with all that writing, not really being in the mood to write some more (meaning, here).

Is that how it’s going to be? No more blogging, no more writing my own stuff?

Nope.

After almost two years since I got back to earning from writing, it’s no longer being only a writer for hire. Recently, I’ve sent a freshly written story (it took me two days to write it) to a contest. Then I’ve written another story (it took me a few hours, and it was longer than the previous one), and published it on my blog in Serbian. Writing on a regular basis builds up “writer’s stamina” (is that even a term? It is now), and when the business is slow, as freelancing gets from time to time, that stamina can be used to write something else, spread wings, and enjoy some more (and “stay in shape”, too).

So… There will be more posts, from time to time. And more stories. And who knows what else.

I don’t, and I like it.

Author:

A writer, a reader, a dreamer. Dreaming myself into existence.

4 thoughts on “Writing for a Living

  1. I’m so glad writing is paying off for you, and it sounds like you’re having a great time as well. That’s wonderful!

    Like

    1. Not always great (think occasionally working with people who don’t know what they want and then complain that what they get is not what they wanted), but I still like it.

      Like

Say Something!

